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Agency name Board of Dentistry, Department of Health Professions 

Virginia Administrative Code 
(VAC) citation  

 18 VAC 60 -20  

Regulation title Regulations Governing the Practice of Dentistry and Dental Hygiene 

Action title  Limitation on number of home study hours of continuing education 

Document preparation date  

 

This information is required for executive review (www.townhall.state.va.us/dpbpages/apaintro.htm#execreview) and 
the Virginia Registrar of Regulations (legis.state.va.us/codecomm/register/regindex.htm), pursuant to the Virginia 
Administrative Process Act (www.townhall.state.va.us/dpbpages/dpb_apa.htm), Executive Orders 21 (2002) and 58 
(1999) (www.governor.state.va.us/Press_Policy/Executive_Orders/EOHome.html), and the Virginia Register Form, 
Style and Procedure Manual (http://legis.state.va.us/codecomm/register/download/styl8_95.rtf).   
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In a short paragraph, please summarize all substantive changes that are being proposed in this 
regulatory action.  
              
 
Of the 15 hours of continuing education required for annual renewal of licensure as a dentist or 
dental hygienist, the amended regulation would specify that only 5 hours may be obtained 
through home study or on-line.  The remaining must be live hours obtained in a clinical or 
classroom setting. 
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Please provide a statement of the final action taken by the agency including (1) the date the action was 
taken, (2) the name of the agency taking the action, and (3) the title of the regulation. 
                
 
On September 12, 2003, the Board of Dentistry took action to amend 18 VAC 60-20-10 et seq., 
Regulations Governing the Practice of Dentistry and Dental Hygiene, through the fast-track 
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regulatory process to limit the number of continuing education hours that could be obtained on-
line or through home study.   
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Please identify the state and/or federal source of legal authority to promulgate this proposed regulation, 
including  (1) the most relevant law and/or regulation, including General Assembly bill and chapter 
numbers, if applicable, and (2) promulgating entity, i.e., the agency, board, or person.  Describe the 
scope of the legal authority and the extent to which the authority is mandatory or discretionary.   
              
Regulations are promulgated under the general authority of Chapter 24 of Title 54.1 of the Code of 
Virginia. Section 54.1-2400 (6) provides the Board the authority to promulgate regulations to 
administer the regulatory system: 
 

§ 54.1-2400 -General powers and duties of health regulatory boards  
The general powers and duties of health regulatory boards shall be:  
 … 
6. To promulgate regulations in accordance with the Administrative Process Act (§ 9-
6.14:1 et seq.) which are reasonable and necessary to administer effectively the 
regulatory system. Such regulations shall not conflict with the purposes and intent of this 
chapter or of Chapter 1 (§ 54.1-100 et seq.) and Chapter 25 (§ 54.1-2500 et seq.) of this 
title. … 
 

The Board is authorized to require additional training for renewal of licensure in: 

§ 54.1-103. Additional training of regulated persons; reciprocity; endorsement.  

A. The regulatory boards within the Department of Professional and Occupational Regulation 
and the Department of Health Professions may promulgate regulations specifying additional 
training or conditions for individuals seeking certification or licensure, or for the renewal of 
certificates or licenses.  

B. The regulatory boards may enter into agreements with other jurisdictions for the recognition 
of certificates and licenses issued by other jurisdictions.  

C. The regulatory boards are authorized to promulgate regulations recognizing licenses or 
certificates issued by other states, the District of Columbia, or any territory or possession of the 
United States as full or partial fulfillment of qualifications for licensure or certification in the 
Commonwealth.  

Continuing education for dental hygienists is specifically mandated by: 

§ 54.1-2729. Continuing education.  

A. The Board shall promulgate regulations governing continuing requirements for dental 
hygienists licensed pursuant to this article. Such regulations shall require the completion of 
fifteen hours annually in continuing education courses for any license renewal or reinstatement 
after April 1, 1995. The Board may grant exemptions from these continuing education 
requirements.  
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B. The Board shall approve continuing education courses that are directly related to the practice 
of dental hygiene and the treatment and care of patients. Any licensed hospital, institution of 
higher education, or national, state, or local health, medical, dental or dental hygiene 
organization, or individuals thereof may submit applications to the Board for approval as a 
provider of continuing education courses satisfying the requirements of the Board's regulations. 
Approved course providers must register continuing education courses with the Board pursuant 
to Board regulations. Only courses approved by the Board or offered by an approved provider 
may be designated as qualifying for continuing education course credit.  

C. All course providers shall furnish written certification to dental hygienists indicating the 
satisfactory completion of an approved continuing education course. Each course provider shall 
retain records of all persons attending and those persons satisfactorily completing such 
continuing education courses for a period of four years following each course. Applicants for 
renewal or reinstatement of licenses issued pursuant to this article shall retain for a period of 
four years the written certification issued by a course provider. The Board may require course 
providers and licensees to submit copies of such records or certification as it deems necessary to 
ensure compliance with continuing education requirements.  
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Please explain the need for the new or amended regulation by (1) detailing the specific reasons why 
this regulatory action is essential to protect the health, safety, or welfare of citizens, and (2) discussing 
the goals of the proposal and the problems the proposal is intended to solve. 
              
 
It is the Board’s policy to require continuing education hours to be live or interactive to allow for 
exchange of information in a clinical or classroom setting.  Recently, questions have arisen about 
the acceptability of on-line or home study hours.  While the Board is willing to permit a portion 
of the hourly requirement to be obtained by such means, it does not intend to allow all of the 
required 15 hours in home study.  The Board agrees with other professions, such as medicine, 
that there is merit in having practitioners engaged in a live or interactive learning environment 
with their peers.  For dentists, who are often solo practitioners, such interaction enhances their 
acquisition of new information and clinical skills, which translates into better dental care and 
protection of the consuming public’s health and safety.  
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Please explain why the fast track process is being used to promulgate this regulation.   
 
Please note:  If an objection to the use of the fast-track process is received within the 60-day public 
comment period from (1) 10 or more persons, (2) any member of the applicable standing committee of 
either house of the General Assembly or (3) any member of the Joint Commission on Administrative 
Rules, the agency shall (i) file notice of the objection with the Registrar of Regulations for publication in 
the Virginia Register, and (ii) proceed with the normal promulgation process with the initial publication of 
the fast-track regulation serving as the Notice of Intended Regulatory Action.  
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While it is the Board’s intent to require most continuing education hours to be live or interactive, 
it is necessary to respond to requests from practitioners who want to receive credit for some 
hours in home study.  Adoption of a guidance document was considered as an option, but it is not 
enforceable as a law or regulation and could not be cited in a disciplinary case.  Therefore, the 
only option was adoption of an amendment to regulation to specify the number of home study 
hours that could be credited toward the annual requirement.   
 
In order to have clear guidance through a regulation on the issue of live versus home study 
continuing education, the Board acted to propose an amendment through the fast-track process.  
It does not anticipate any opposition to the amended rule and views it as clarifying to its 
licensees. 
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Please briefly identify and explain the new substantive provisions, the substantive changes to existing 
sections, or both where appropriate.  (More detail about these changes is requested in the “Detail of 
changes” section.) 
                
 
The amendment to section 50 would provide that no more than 5 of the 15 hours could be 
obtained through home study or on-line course work with the remaining hours to be live 
classroom or clinical hours. 
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Please identify the issues associated with the proposed regulatory action, including:  
1) the primary advantages and disadvantages to the public, such as individual private citizens or 
businesses, of implementing the new or amended provisions;  
2) the primary advantages and disadvantages to the agency or the Commonwealth; and  
3) other pertinent matters of interest to the regulated community, government officials, and the public.   
 
If the regulatory action poses no disadvantages to the public or the Commonwealth, please so indicate.   
              
 
There are no disadvantages to the public of this amendment.  Consumers of dental services may 
be better served by a limitation on the number of hours that may be obtained through home study 
since it is believed that live, interactive hours are more valuable in conveying new knowledge 
and clinical skills.   
 
There are no disadvantages to the agency or the Commonwealth;  a clearly stated regulation 
should enable staff of the Board to give licensees a definitive response to inquiries about home 
study hours. 
 
There are no other pertinent matters of interest. 
 

"�
�
� �����  ����

 



Town Hall Agency Background Document     Form:  TH-14 
 

 5

             
 
Projected cost to the state to implement and 
enforce the proposed regulation, including  
(a) fund source / fund detail, and (b) a 
delineation of one-time versus on-going 
expenditures 

The agency will incur some one-time costs (less than 
$2,000) for mailings to the Public Participation 
Guidelines mailing lists, conducting a public hearing, 
and sending copies of final regulations to regulated 
entities.  Every effort will be made to incorporate 
those into anticipated mailings. There are no ongoing 
expenditures related to this amendment. As a special 
fund agency, the Board must generate sufficient 
revenue to cover its expenditures from non-general 
funds, specifically the renewal and application fees it 
charges to practitioners for necessary functions of 
regulation.   

Projected cost of the regulation on localities None 
Description of the individuals, businesses or 
other entities likely to be affected by the 
regulation 

Licensees of the Board of Dentistry are affected by 
the regulation – dentists and dental hygienists. 

Agency’s best estimate of the number of such 
entities that will be affected 

There are 5360 dentists and 3770 dental hygienists 
licensed in Virginia who are subject to continuing 
education requirements. 

Projected cost of the regulation for affected 
individuals, businesses, or other entities 

There is no projected cost; the total number of 
hours of continuing education is not changed.  
Home study hours are not necessarily more or less 
expensive than live hours.  For example, the VCU 
School of Dentistry offers a 6.5 hour course to 
dental hygienists for $128, but a 1.5 hour video to 
use at home or in the office costs $75. 
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Please describe any viable alternatives to the proposal considered and the rationale used by the agency 
to select the least burdensome or intrusive alternative that meets the essential purpose of the action.  
               
 
In order for the Board to be able to communicate and enforce its decision on the number of 
continuing education hours that may be home-study or on-line, it must put policy into regulation.   
Adoption of a guidance document was considered as an option, but it is not enforceable as a law 
or regulation and could not be cited in a disciplinary case.  Therefore, the only option was 
adoption of an amendment to regulation to specify the number of home study hours that could be 
credited toward the annual requirement.   
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Please assess the impact of the proposed regulatory action on the institution of the family and family 
stability.  
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There is no impact on the institution of the family and family stability. 
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Please detail all changes that are being proposed and the consequences of the proposed changes.   
 
If the proposed regulation is intended to replace an emergency regulation, please list separately (1) all 
changes between the pre-emergency regulation and the proposed regulation, and (2) only changes made 
since the publication of the emergency regulation.      
                 
 
 
 
Current 
section 
number 

Current requirement Proposed change and rationale 

50 A dentist or dental 
hygienist is required to 
obtain 15 hours of 
continuing education for 
annual renewal of licensure. 

The amendment would provide that no more than 5 of the 
15 hours could be obtained through home study or on-line 
course work with the remaining hours to be live classroom 
or clinical hours. 
 
The Board agrees with other professions, such as medicine, 
that there is merit in having practitioners engaged in a live 
or interactive learning environment with their peers.  For 
dentists, who are often solo practitioners, such interaction 
enhances their acquisition of new information and clinical 
skills, which translates into better dental care and 
protection of the consuming public’s health and safety.  
Part of the purpose of continuing education for licensees of 
this Board was to require practitioners to get away from 
their individual offices and interact with other professionals 
who may have acquired new knowledge and techniques.  If 
all hours of continuing education could be obtained on-line 
or through home study, it would weaken the intent of the 
requiring continuing education. 
 

 
 
 
 


